Taskforce Perovskite Photovoltaics - Next Generation Photovoltaics


Welcome… Willkommen… Bonjour… 欢迎…

… to the homepage of the division Next Generation Photovoltaics and the cross-institutional "Taskforce Perovskite Photovoltaics at KIT" led by Tenure-Track-Prof. Dr. Ulrich W. Paetzold. If you look for us in person, you will find us at both the Institute of Microstructure Technology and the Light Technology Institute at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). Enjoy reading about our work and always feel invited to contact us. Do not forget to check out our latest updates and news @PeroTaskforce.

Tenure-Track-Prof. Dr. Ulrich W. Paetzold

At the heart of a sustainable future, inexpensive electrical energy needs to be guaranteed to all people on this planet. Photovoltaics bear the potential to generate the required amount of electrical energy at low cost by harvesting the globally available and inexhaustible energy resource of the sun. Unfolding the full potential of next generation photovoltaic technologies by research, innovation, and academic education is our scientific mission and ambition.

Forschungsprojekte
Research Projects & Partners
Perowskit Forschung
Research
Perowskit Labore LTI
Labs & Equipment
Perowskit Taskforce Team
Team
Publikationen
Publications
Open positions

News

explainableAILukas Klein
AI for perovskite solar cells: Key to better production

Researchers of the Light Technology Institute at KIT and the Helmholtz Imaging platforms at the DKFZ German Cancer Research Center and Helmholtz AI have now found a way to predict the quality of the perovskite layers and thus the solar cells: using machine learning and new methods of artificial intelligence.

more
Kristina Geistert Poster Award
Kristina Geistert receives the Poster Award at EU PVSEC-40 2023

We're thrilled to share that Kristina Geistert has received the Poster Award in the thematic area of 
“Thin Films and New Concepts” at the EU PVSEC-40 2023! Congratulations for her outstanding visual presentation on "Upscaling of Solution Processed Perovskite PV: Drying and Crystallization Dynamics of Slot-Die Coated Perovskite Solar Modules during Gas Quenching". In this work, Kristina and her colleagues demonstrate the fundamental interrelation between drying and crystallization dynamics during perovskite morphology formation and the quality of slot-die coated gas quenched polycrystalline perovskite thin films, reliably depositing high-quality perovskite thin film with a homogeneous morphology over a large area.


Check out all Poster Award winners of the EU-PVSEC-40:

more
Laufer EMRS Fall 2023
Felix Laufer receives the Young Researcher Award at the European Material Research Society (E-MRS) Fall Meeting 2023

We're thrilled to share that Felix Laufer has received the Young Researcher Award at the E-MRS Fall Meeting 2023! Congratulations for his outstanding presentation on "Exploring Perovskite Thin Film Formation by Machine Learning on In Situ Photoluminescence Data." In this work, Felix and his colleagues utilize photoluminescence imaging to monitor the large-area perovskite thin-film formation process and exploit the power of machine learning to extract invaluable insights from such complex, high-dimensional data.


Check out our latest corresponding paper:

more
UliPaetzold_pic2
Ulrich W. Paetzold Receives ERC Consolidator Grant

T.T. Prof. Ulrich W. Paetzold has been awarded a highly endowed ERC Consolidator Grant from the European Research Council (ERC). He leads an international and highly interdisciplinary research group on new materials and processes for next generation photovoltaics. The ERC award will further strengthen his research on perovskite (tandem) photovoltaics. The proposed project aims to develop a radically new manufacturing process for high quality perovskite semiconductor that has the potential to overcome key challenges of perovskite thin film processing.

more
TandemPeroLTI
On a way to the market; Fully scalable Perovskite/Perovskite tandem solar modules

Light management, high-throughput laser interconnections and industrial coationg methods pave the way to the world’s first all perovskite tandem solar module - The team of T.T.Prof. U. Paetzold reports in Nature Energy

more
Marco A. Ruiz-PreciadoMarco A. Ruiz-Preciado, KIT
Thin-film photovoltaics: Efficient and versatile in a double pack

Stacking solar cells on top of each other increases efficiency. Researchers from the Perovskite Photovoltaics Taskforce, together with partners in the EU project PERCISTAND, have now produced perovskite/CIS tandem solar cells with an efficiency of almost 25 percent - the highest to date for this technology.

more
Ahmed_Farag
Best contributed talk award at the 2021 Material Research Society (MRS) Fall Meeting

Doctoral student Ahmed Farag from the Institute of Microstructure Technology (IMT) received an award for the best contributed talk at the hybrid 2021 Materials Research Society (MRS) fall meeting in Boston. The award was given for his oral presentation on ‘’ Micrometer-Thick Solution Processed Perovskite Solar Cells on Industrial-Like Textured Si Substrates for Efficient Light Harvesting’’.

K. Geistert
Ms. M.Sc. Kristina Geistert receives the 2020 Study Award of the SEW EURODRIVE FOUNDATION

Ms. M.Sc. Kristina Geistert was awarded the study prize of the SEW EURODRIVE STIFTUNG 2020 on 7.5.2021.
The award was given due to her outstanding study performance and master thesis on the topic "Production of perovskite solar cells based on non-hazardous volatile solvent systems". We congratulate the award winner and wish the PhD student at the Institute of Light Technology continued success.

Upscaling PV
All-evaporated Perovskite Solar Modules reaching efficiency > 18%

Upscaling perovskite photovoltaics from cell to module level with scalable processes is a key challenge. Researchers at IMT and LTI have now produced perovskite solar modules with almost no loss of scaling. They combine laser-scribed interconnection lines with the ease of co-evaporated perovskites.

more
Paetzold_NewsBreig/KIT
Tenure-Track-Prof. Dr. Ulrich W. Paetzold appointed to the Tenure-Track-Professorship Next Generation Photovoltaics

Effective March 1st, 2021, Ulrich W. Paetzold has been appointed to the Tenure-Track-Professorship Next Generation Photovoltaics of the KIT Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology in Area III. Ulrich W. Paetzold and his interdisciplinary team develop and research new materials, future-oriented device architectures, and innovative manufacturing processes for perovskite photovoltaics. The enormous progress in perovskite research makes this material system a beacon of hope for high-performance and cost-effective solar cells.

more
Abzieher_AuszeichnungGips-Schüle-Stiftung, 2020
Dr. Tobias Abzieher Receives Award for an Outstanding Dissertation

 

Dr. Tobias Abzieher receives one of the renowned Young Scientist Awards 2020 of the Gips-Schüle-Stiftung for his dissertation. Due to its high relevance for the sustainable and responsible use of resources, the foundation chose the work of Dr. Abzieher as one of the three best technical and scientific dissertations in Baden-Württemberg in 2019/20.

more
PSA_Press_Helge
The Optical Society (OSA) features the work of Helge Eggers

The Optical Society (OSA) features the work of Helge Eggers presented on Inkjet-Printed Perovskite Photovoltaics at the Optical Society (OSA) 2020 Advanced Photonics Congress with a press release. Helge Eggers, doctoral student in the research group of Dr. Ulrich W. Paetzold from Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, presented his latest achievements of a perovskite solar cells with inkjet-printed absorber and extraction layers, reaching power conversion efficiencies above 17%.

more
Saba_Poster_Award
Saba Gharibzadeh received the poster award

02.10.2019 - Doctoral student Saba Gharibzadeh received the poster award at the International Conference on Perovskite Solar Cells and Optoelectronics (PSCO 2019) in Lausanne (Switzerland). The award was given for her poster on “Record Open Circuit Voltage in High Efficiency Wide-Bandgap Perovskite Solar Cells” by Prof. M. Graetzel.

Award_Schmager
Prize for the best PhD presentation at the OSA Advanced Photonics Congress

01.08.2019 - Doctoral student Raphael Schmager from the Institute of Microstructure Technology (IMT) received an award for the best student presentation at the OSA Advanced Photonics Congress in San Francisco. The award was given for his oral presentation on “Nanophotonic Perovskite Thin-Film Solar Cells by Thermal Nano-imprint Lithography” in the topical meeting on “Optical Devices and Materials for Solid Energy and Solid-state Lightning"

KIT_Tandem
Tandem solar modules: More power from the double pack

Since the efficiency of commercially available solar cells can only be increased to a limited extent, researchers have combined perovskite semiconductors with semiconductors made of copper, indium, gallium and selenium (CIGS) to form tandem solar cells. This achieves efficiencies of over 30%, while retaining all the advantages of thin-film technology.

more
SWR_KITSüdwestrundfunk (SWR)
SWR Report on Perovskite Research at KIT

SWR Aktuell reports on perovskite research at KIT and on the world records recently achieved there for inkjet-printed perovskite solar cells.

more
Tobias Abzieher, KIT
Novel transport layer enables high-efficiency perovskite solar cells

Photovoltaics plays a crucial role in harnessing the sun as an inexhaustible source of energy. Researchers at the LTI on the KIT campus have succeeded in developing a novel, highly efficient nickel oxide hole conductor layer that helps perovskite solar cells achieve record efficiencies.

more

Taskforce Perovskite Photovoltaics - Next Generation Photovoltaics


Willkommen... Welcome... Bonjour... 欢迎...

... auf der Homepage der Abteilung Next Generation Photovoltaics und der institutsübergreifenden "Taskforce Perowskit-Photovoltaik am KIT" unter der Leitung von Tenure-Track-Prof. Dr. Ulrich W. Paetzold. Wenn Sie uns persönlich suchen, finden Sie uns sowohl am Institut für Mikrostrukturtechnik als auch am Institut für Lichttechnik am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT). Wir wünschen Ihnen viel Spaß bei der Lektüre und laden Sie herzlich ein, mit uns Kontakt aufzunehmen. Vergessen Sie nicht, unsere neuesten Updates und Nachrichten unter @PeroTaskforce zu lesen.

Tenure-Track-Prof. Dr. Ulrich W. Paetzold

Das Herzstück einer nachhaltigen Zukunft ist die Gewährleistung von preiswerter elektrischer Energie für alle Menschen auf diesem Planeten. Die Photovoltaik hat das Potenzial, die benötigte Menge an elektrischer Energie zu geringen Kosten zu erzeugen, indem sie die weltweit verfügbare und unerschöpfliche Energieressource der Sonne nutzt. Unser wissenschaftlicher Auftrag und unser Ziel ist es, durch Forschung, Innovation und akademische Ausbildung das volle Potenzial der Photovoltaik-Technologien der nächsten Generation zu erschließen.

Forschungsprojekte
Forschungs- projekte & Partner
Perowskit Forschung
Forschung
Perowskit Labore LTI
Laboratorien und Ausrüstung
Perowskit Taskforce Team
Team
Publikationen
Publikationen
Stellenanzeigen
 

News

explainableAILukas Klein
KI für Perowskit-Solarzellen: Schlüssel zur besseren Produktion

Forscher des Instituts für Lichttechnik am KIT und der Helmholtz-Imaging-Plattformen am Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrum (DKFZ) und der Helmholtz-KI haben einen Weg gefunden, die Qualität der Perowskit-Schichten und damit der Solarzellen vorherzusagen: mit maschinellem Lernen und neuen Methoden der künstlichen Intelligenz.

mehr
Kristina Geistert Poster Award
Kristina Geistert erhält den Posterpreis auf der EU PVSEC-40 2023

Wir freuen uns mitteilen zu können, dass Kristina Geistert den Poster Award im Themenbereich
"Thin Films and New Concepts" auf der EU PVSEC-40 2023 erhalten hat! Herzlichen Glückwunsch für ihre hervorragende visuelle Präsentation zum Thema "Upscaling of Solution Processed Perovskite PV: Drying and Crystallization Dynamics of Slot-Die Coated Perovskite Solar Modules during Gas Quenching". In dieser Arbeit demonstrieren Kristina und ihre Kollegen den grundlegenden Zusammenhang zwischen der Trocknungs- und Kristallisationsdynamik während der Bildung der Perowskit-Morphologie und der Qualität von mit Schlitzdüsen beschichteten, gasgekühlten polykristallinen Perowskit-Dünnschichten, wobei sie zuverlässig hochwertige Perowskit-Dünnschichten mit einer homogenen Morphologie über eine große Fläche abscheiden.


Hier finden Sie Posterpreisträger der EU-PVSEC-40:

mehr
Laufer EMRS Fall 2023
Felix Laufer erhält den Young Researcher Award auf dem European Material Research Society (E-MRS) Fall Meeting 2023

Wir freuen uns sehr mitteilen zu können, dass Felix Laufer den Young Researcher Award auf dem E-MRS Fall Meeting 2023 erhalten hat! Herzlichen Glückwunsch für seine herausragende Präsentation über "Exploring Perovskite Thin Film Formation by Machine Learning on In Situ Photoluminescence Data". In dieser Arbeit nutzen Felix und seine Kollegen die Photolumineszenz-Bildgebung, um den großflächigen Perowskit-Dünnschichtbildungsprozess zu überwachen. Sie machen sich die Möglichkeiten des maschinellen Lernens zunutze, um aus solch komplexen, hochdimensionalen Daten unschätzbare Erkenntnisse zu gewinnen.

 

Hier finden Sie unsere neueste entsprechende Veröffentlichung:

mehr
UliPaetzold_pic2
Ulrich W. Paetzold erhält ERC Consolidator Grant

T.T. Prof. Ulrich W. Paetzold hat den renommierten „Consolidator Grant” des Europäischen Forschungsrats (ERC) erhalten. Er leitet eine internationale und stark interdisziplinäre Forschungsgruppe zu neuen Materialien und Prozessen für die Photovoltaik der nächsten Generation. Die ERC-Auszeichnung wird seine Forschung im Bereich der Perowskit-Photovoltaik (Tandem-Photovoltaik) weiter stärken. Das vorgeschlagene Projekt zielt darauf ab, ein völlig neues Herstellungsverfahren für hochwertige Perowskit-Halbleiter zu entwickeln, welches Potenzial hat, die wichtigsten Herausforderungen bei der Verarbeitung von Perowskit-Dünnschichten zu überwinden.

mehr
TandemPeroLTI
Vollständig skalierbare Perowskit/Perowskit-Tandem-Solarmodule

Gezieltes Lichtmanagement, Hochdurchsatz-Laser-Strukturierung und Einsatz etablierter Beschichtungsverfahren ebnen den Weg zur Marktreife – Die Forschungsgruppe um T.T.Prof. U. Paetzold berichtet in Nature Energy.

mehr
Marco A. Ruiz-PreciadoMarco A. Ruiz-Preciado, KIT
Dünnschicht-Photovoltaik: Effizient und vielseitig im Doppelpack

Solarzellen übereinander zu stapeln, steigert den Wirkungsgrad. Forschende der Taskforce Perovskite Photovoltaik haben gemeinsam mit Partnern im EU-Projekt PERCISTAND nun Perowskit/CIS-Tandem-Solarzellen mit einem Wirkungsgrad von fast 25 Prozent hergestellt – dem bis jetzt höchsten für diese Technologie.

mehr
Ahmed_Farag
Auszeichnung für den besten Beitrag auf der Herbsttagung 2021 der Material Research Society (MRS)

Der Doktorand Ahmed Farag vom Institut für Mikrostrukturtechnik (IMT) wurde auf der Herbsttagung der Materials Research Society (MRS) 2021 in Boston für den besten Beitrag ausgezeichnet. Die Auszeichnung wurde für seinen mündlichen Vortrag "Micrometer-Thick Solution Processed Perovskite Solar Cells on Industrial-Like Textured Si Substrates for Efficient Light Harvesting" verliehen.

K. Geistert
Frau M.Sc. Kristina Geistert erhält den 2020 Studienpreis der SEW EURODRIVE STIFTUNG

Frau M.Sc. Kristina Geistert wurde am 7.5.2021 mit dem Studienpreis der SEW EURODRIVE STIFTUNG 2020 ausgezeichnet.
Die Auszeichnung wurde aufgrund ihrer herausragenden Studienleistung und Masterarbeit zum Thema „Herstellung von Perowskit-Solarzellen auf der Basis ungefährlicher flüchtiger Lösemittelsysteme“ verliehen. Wir gratulieren der Preisträgerin und wünschen der Doktorandin am Lichttechnischen Institut weiterhin viel Erfolg.

Upscaling PV
Vollverdampfte Perowskit-Solarmodule erreichen einen Wirkungsgrad >18%

Von der Zelle zum Modul ohne Wirkungsgradeinbußen: Forschende der Taskforce Perovskite Photovoltaik haben nun Perowskit-Solarmodule fast ohne Skalierungsverluste hergestellt. Dazu kombinierten sie die Serienverschaltung per Laser mit der Vakuumprozessierung aller Schichten der Solarzelle.

mehr
Paetzold_NewsBreig/KIT
Tenure-Track-Prof. Dr. Ulrich W. Paetzold auf die Tenure-Track-Professur Next Generation Photovoltaics berufen

Mit Wirkung zum 1. März 2021 wurde Ulrich W. Paetzold auf die Tenure-Track-Professur Next Generation Photovoltaics der KIT-Fakultät für Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik im Bereich III berufen. Ulrich W. Paetzold entwickelt und erforscht mit seinem interdisziplinären Team neue Materialien, zukunftsweisende Bauelementarchitekturen und innovative Herstellungsverfahren für die Perowskit-Photovoltaik. Der enorme Fortschritt der Perowskit-Forschung macht dieses Materialsystem zu einem Hoffnungsträger für leistungsstarke und kostengünstige Solarzellen.

more
Abzieher_AuszeichnungGips-Schüle-Stiftung, 2020
Dr. Tobias Abzieher erhält Auszeichnung für herausragende Dissertation

 

Dr. Tobias Abzieher erhält für seine Dissertation einen der renommierten Nachwuchspreise 2020 der Gips-Schüle-Stiftung. Die Stiftung kürt die Arbeit von Dr. Abzieher wegen ihrer hohen Relevanz für den nachhaltigen und verantwortungsbewussten Umgang mit Ressourcen als eine der drei besten technisch-naturwissenschaftlichen Dissertationen in Baden-Württemberg im Jahr 2019/20.

mehr
PSA_Press_Helge
Die Optical Society (OSA) stellt die Arbeit von Helge Eggers vor

Die Optical Society (OSA) stellt in einer Pressemitteilung die Arbeit von Helge Eggers vor, die er auf dem Optical Society (OSA) 2020 Advanced Photonics Congress zum Thema "Inkjet-Printed Perovskite Photovoltaics" vorgestellt hat. Helge Eggers, Doktorand in der Forschungsgruppe von Dr. Ulrich W. Paetzold vom Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, präsentierte seine neuesten Errungenschaften einer Perowskit-Solarzelle mit Inkjet-gedruckten Absorber- und Extraktionsschichten, die einen Wirkungsgrad von über 17% erreichen.

mehr
Saba_Poster_Award
Saba Gharibzadeh erhielt die Auszeichnung für das beste Poster

02.10.2019 - Die Doktorandin Saba Gharibzadeh erhielt den Posterpreis auf der International Conference on Perovskite Solar Cells and Optoelectronics (PSCO 2019) in Lausanne (Schweiz). Die Auszeichnung wurde für ihr Poster zum Thema "Record Open Circuit Voltage in High Efficiency Wide-Bandgap Perovskite Solar Cells" von Prof. M. Graetzel verliehen.

Award_Schmager
Preis für die beste Doktorandenpräsentation auf dem OSA Advanced Photonics Congress

01.08.2019 - Der Doktorand Raphael Schmager vom Institut für Mikrostrukturtechnik (IMT) hat auf dem OSA Advanced Photonics Congress in San Francisco eine Auszeichnung für die beste studentische Präsentation erhalten. Die Auszeichnung wurde für seinen Vortrag "Nanophotonic Perovskite Thin-Film Solar Cells by Thermal Nano-imprint Lithography" in der Themensitzung "Optical Devices and Materials for Solid Energy and Solid-state Lightning" verliehen.

KIT_Tandem
Tandemsolarmodule: Mehr Strom aus dem Doppelpack

Da sich der Wirkungsgrad handelsüblicher Solarzellen nur noch begrenzt steigern lässt, haben Forscherinnen und Forscher Perowskit-Halbleiter mit Halbleitern aus Kupfer, Indium, Gallium und Selen (CIGS) zu Tandemsolarzellen kombiniert. Dadurch werden Wirkungsgrade von über 30%, unter Erhaltung aller Vorteile der Dünnschicht-Technologie, erreicht.

mehr
SWR_KITSüdwestrundfunk (SWR)
SWR Bericht über Perowskit-Forschung am KIT

SWR Aktuell berichtet über die Perowskit-Forschung am KIT und über die kürzlich dort erzielten Weltrekorde für tintenstrahlgedruckte Perowskit-Solarzellen.

Zum Video
Tobias Abzieher, KIT
Neuartige Transportschicht ermöglicht hocheffiziente Perowskit-Solarzellen

Zur Nutzung der Sonne als unerschöpfliche Energiequelle spielt die Photovoltaik eine entscheidende Rolle. Forschern am LTI auf dem KIT Campus ist es gelungen ein neueartige, hocheffiziente Lochleiterschicht aus Nickeloxid zu entwicklen, die Perowskit-Solarzellen zu Rekordeffizienzen verhilft.

mehr