Light Technology Institute

Light Technology Institute


Nanotechnology, visual ergonomics, materials science and system design – these are a few examples from the wide spectrum of light technology research projects and services at our institute.

We are looking forward to an exciting exchange of ideas in productive joint projects and hope you enjoy visiting our website.

Abzieher_AuszeichnungGips-Schüle-Stiftung, 2020
Dr. Tobias Abzieher Receives Award for an Outstanding Dissertation

Dr. Tobias Abzieher receives one of the renowned Young Scientist Awards 2020 of the Gips-Schüle-Stiftung for his dissertation. Due to its high relevance for the sustainable and responsible use of resources, the foundation chose the work of Dr. Abzieher as one of the three best technical and scientific dissertations in Baden-Württemberg in 2019/20.

Licht statt Lösungsmittel: UV-Aushärtung mit LEDs

Wissenschaftler des Lichttechnischen Instituts haben gemeinsam mit mpg-lightsystems eine neue Generation von UV-LED-Leuchten entwickelt, die die Lackaushärtung im Kfz-Bereich mit UV-Licht homogener und effizienter macht.

The Optical Society (OSA) features the work of Helge Eggers

The Optical Society (OSA) features the work of Helge Eggers presented on Inkjet-Printed Perovskite Photovoltaics at the Optical Society (OSA) 2020 Advanced Photonics Congress with a press release. Helge Eggers, doctoral student in the research group of Dr. Ulrich W. Paetzold from Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, presented his latest achievements of a perovskite solar cells with inkjet-printed absorber and extraction layers, reaching power conversion efficiencies above 17%.

Saba Gharibzadeh received the poster award

02.10.2019 - Doctoral student Saba Gharibzadeh received the poster award at the International Conference on Perovskite Solar Cells and Optoelectronics (PSCO 2019) in Lausanne (Switzerland). The award was given for her poster on “Record Open Circuit Voltage in High Efficiency Wide-Bandgap Perovskite Solar Cells” by Prof. M. Graetzel.

Ferroelektrizität verbessert Perowskit-Solarzellen

Ein multidisziplinäres Team von sechs Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern des KIT erhält für seine Forschungarbeiten an Perowskit-Solarzellen den mit 50 000 Euro dotierten Erwin-Schrödinger-Preis der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft und des Stifterverbandes.

Preis für die beste Doktorandenpräsentation auf dem OSA Advanced Photonics Congress

01.08.2019 - Doctoral student Raphael Schmager from the Institute of Microstructure Technology (IMT) received an award for the best student presentation at the OSA Advanced Photonics Congress in San Francisco. The award was given for his oral presentation on “Nanophotonic Perovskite Thin-Film Solar Cells by Thermal Nano-imprint Lithography” in the topical meeting on “Optical Devices and Materials for Solid Energy and Solid-state Lightning

Elsevier/JQSRT Peter C. Waterman Award

Amos Egel receives Elsevier/JQSRT Peter C. Waterman Award for early-career scientists in the field of electromagnetic scattering.